The University of Sousse

The University of Sousse was created in 2004 from a division of the University of the Center, which had been created in 1991 from the University of Monastir. The University of the Center had grown rapidly from 45,000 students in 2001-2002 to nearly 60,000 in 2003-2004 in 30 institutions. In 2004 new universities were created in Monastir, Kairouan and Gafsa.

The new LMD Reform (License – Master- Doctorate -) has been introduced in the institutions of the University of Sousse: Faculty of Law and Economic and Political sciences of Sousse, Faculty of Arts and Humanities of Sousse, Institute of Transport and Logistics of Hammam Sousse, Institute of Management, Institute for Computer Science and Technical Communication of Hammam Sousse, Institute of High  Commercial Studies of Sousse, Institute of Applied Sciences and Technology of Sousse, High Institute of Sciences and Technology of Hammam Sousse, Institute of Music of Sousse, Institute of Finance and Taxation of Sousse, Institute of Fine arts of Sousse. The University of Sousse includes more than 30000 students, 1950 teachers. The University of Sousse provides a range of academic and professionalized courses in fundamental sciences, technical, agronomic, medical, paramedical, Legal, economic and management sciences, arts and crafts, arts and humanities.

The University of Sousse has signed more than 76 international cooperation agreements of research and exchange with foreign Universities and research centers from Africa, Europe, Asia and North America. This international cooperation strengthens the training and the projects managed by the University’s research departments.

The most important part of the University of Sousse is The Faculty of Arts and Humanities of Sousse which was founded in 1990. During the 2012-2013 academic year the Faculty of Arts counted 5800 students and 374 teachers. It includes five basic licenses in Geography, History, Arabic, French and English. It also includes 4 applied licenses in History, Geography, as well as in the English and French languages. Moreover, the faculty provides education in five Master’s Degrees, and it is authorized to give a Doctor’s degree in three specialties: History, English and Arabic.

The Doctoral school at the Faculty hosts several scientific and educational activities. In addition, the Faculty has 3 research units and one research laboratory.

The University of Sousse website:

Contact person

Boutheina Ben Hassine